Categories
Cakes

Matcha Red Bean Swiss Roll

I loved the Polar sugar rolls. So soft and fluffy. I can wolf down 3 pieces in one go. 🙂 I would love to be able to make them myself. I once attended a class on deco roll many years back and the instructor told me it’s impossible for home bakers to achieve the texture of that. And that I wouldn’t want to eat them any more if I learnt of the chemicals used to produce such fluffy texture! 😦 Nonetheless I still indulge in them once in a while.

It’s was quite stressful for me to try to bake my own swiss roll although it is a simple cake. Firstly, the cake batter must be bake right with a golden smooth top. Then it shouldn’t crack when you roll it up. I found this wonderful recipe from a FB group. Love her swiss roll, always so pretty with fine crumbs. I gotta give this a try! Oh, did I tell you I like my swiss roll to be thick. Not with thick cream! Thick layer of cake with little cream. Yeah…that’s how I like mine. I know…. some people will bake a thin layer of cake as it reduces the chance of the cake cracking and break as you roll up.

My earlier swiss roll is always “naked”. The skin was stuck on the baking paper when I removed it. I need to bake a bit longer so that the skin is brown and stays intact.

Ingredients

5 egg yolk (I used 60g)

30g oil

50g milk

20g sugar

80g cake flour

2 tsp matcha powder, add 2 tsp hot water to make into a paste.

5 egg whites

50g Sugar

1/4 tsp cream of tar tar

Filling

Store bought japanese red bean and green tea jam

Directions

Line a rectangular baking tin with some grease proof baking paper. I am using a 33cm by 22.5cm pan.

Mix egg yolks, oil, sugar and milk together until well combined.

Add in the matcha paste and the flour and mix till there is not lumps.

In another bowl, whisk the egg whites until frothy. Add in the cream of tar tar followed by sugar and continue to whisk till you get frim peaks.

Add 1/3 of the meringue to the egg yolk mixture and fold well. Then pour this into meringue bowl and fold lightly until you no longer see any white streaks.

Pour the batter into the prepare tin. Use a scrapper to scrap the top to get a smooth top. Bang the tin a few times on the counter top.

Bake this in a pre-heated oven at 160 degree for about 15-18 mins. The top of the cake should be brown and bounce but gently when touched.

Remove from oven once the cake is ready. Remove the cake from the tin. Peel away the paper from the sides. Use a flat board with a clean piece of baking paper, place over the cake and flip over carefully. Now peel of the baking paper that is on top now.

Roll the cake up gently but not too tightly with the help of the baking paper below into something like this. I find it helpful to roll when the cake is still warm. The only risk is as the cake cools down the water vapour trapped causes the skin to be sticky and may stick when you remove the baking paper.

When the cake is cooled. Remove the baking paper. Unroll and then spread some green tea jam and red bean onto the cake and then roll it up tightly. Chill the cake for about 30mins. Trim away some cake from the front and back of the roll. Enjoy!

Leave a comment