Categories
Others

Cold Soya Beancurd Recipe

Have you tried the famous Lao Ban Dou Hua before? Apparently, people queue to buy truckloads of this. It’s softer than the usual beancurd aka tau huay you get from the regular markets and hawker centers here.

I manage to find a recipe for it online. Tried and its quite easy. I usually tripled the quantity to make more to enjoy over a few days. This version uses soya milk powder. There’s another one, that uses Soya milk drink and its easier! Hop over here to check out.

I used this recipe as I had difficulty finding the DrinHo brand of soyamilk. Maybe I will try to make again without the coffeemate powder and see how it turns out.

Ingredients

90g Unisoy Instant Soya Milk Power (No cane sugar added)

45g Polleney Pure Soy Bean Powder

45g Nestle Coffeemate creamer

30g caster sugar

1050g water

21g instant jelly powder (you can buy this from Phoon Huat)

Directions

After trying to make this a few times, I find it easier to use warm water to try to dissolve the soyabean powder first. I had tired adding the powder to cold water or hot water, both times the soyabean powder starts to get lumpy and I find it hard to get rid of the lumps wasting a lot of time in the process trying to do so.

Here I used part of the 1050g water above. I used about half of it to heat up till warm then add the soyabean powder into it. Mix well then add the balance half of the cold water into the pot. Bring the pot over fire again to heat up. Once the soyabean milk is warm again, add in the creamer next and stir till well dissolved. Lower the flame to allow the soyabean mixture to come to a gentle boil.

In a bowl, mix the instant jelly powder with sugar the add to the hot mixture above and stir to mix well. You will need a sieve or steel mesh spoon to skim of the foamy liquid on top. Once the mixture come to a gentle boil, switch off the fire. Gently scoop the mixture into the prepared containers so that it doesn’t get bubbly. I spooned mine over the steel mesh spoon. Remove any air bubbles on the surface using a teaspoon or a toothpick. You have to do this step fast as the beancurd will start to set once the heat is off. You want to achieve a smooth silky beancurd. Let it cool a bit before you put into the refrigerator to chill.

It yield 7 small bowls for me.

Here’s a preview of the texture. I find this soya beancurd slighly more yellowish in colour compared to the one using packet soya bean milk.

One reply on “Cold Soya Beancurd Recipe”

Leave a comment